Only music is as high as the sea

Albert Camus


A unique collaboration between three innovative and generous musicians, three friends and three stage lovers : Patricia Petibon, Christian-Pierre La Marca and Susan Manoff. An astonishing classical trio that combines vocal and instrumental music in an intimate and personal way.

Once you’ve heard the combination, few things are as captivating as the sound of a cello and voice together with a piano. It’s a gorgeous richness of vocal strings, mellow and soft, complemented by the distinct phrasing of the hammer and bow strokes. Here are three highly complementary instruments that give rise to an ever-changing imaginary sound.

Petibon, La Marca and Manoff all share a love of innovative programming, a curiosity for a wide range of repertoires and styles, and a commitment to new works for their respective instruments.

From baroque to chanson, passing through the Romantic repertoire and the current national schools, the three musicians take us on a whirling journey through space and time. Eastern European composers rub shoulders with those of the New World, and the music of the past meets the music of today.

Patricia’s multiple voices and Christian-Pierre and Susan’s fingers take us through centuries, eras and continents. They tell a story where the strings mingle with the breath to remind us that our world is as small as the musical legacy it carries…



The Program

*Program subject to change

“Ich ruf zu Dir Herr Jesus Christ” for piano solo

improvisation for cello solo

Samuel Barber
“Crucifixion” for soprano, cello & piano

Didier Squiban
“Ledenez” extract from “Molène” for piano solo

Reynaldo Hahn
“Néère” for soprano & piano

Didier Squiban
“Iroise” extract from “Molène” for piano solo

Nicolas Bacri
“A la mar” for soprano, cello & piano

Jean Cras
“Chanson Bretonne” for soprano & piano

Gabriel Fauré
“Après un rêve” for cello & piano
“Les Berceaux” for soprano & piano

Marin Marais
“La Folia” for cello solo

Manuel de Falla
“El paño moruno” for soprano & piano

Fernando Obradors
“El vito” for soprano & piano

Claude Debussy
Sonata for cello & piano

Enrique Granados
Spanish dance No. 5 for cello & piano

Eric Satie
“Je te veux” for soprano, cello & piano

Eric Satie
“La Statue de Bronze” for soprano & piano

Francis Poulenc
“Les gars qui vont à la fete” for soprano, cello & piano

Fritz Kreisler
“Liebesleid” for cello & piano

Francisco Mignone
“Donna Janaina” for soprano, cello & piano

Pablo Casals
“Le Chant des oiseaux” for cello solo

Yann Tiersen
“Yuzin” for piano solo

Frederic Weatherly
“Danny Boy” (arr Laurent Levesque) for soprano, cello & piano